The Brilliance Of A Supernova And A New Reader Review. Both Are Wow!

Standard

“The Crab Nebula was a star once. It exploded as a supernova in 1054, and was so bright that it was visible during the day for 23 days and at night for two years. At its center is the Crab Pulsar: a rapidly spinning neutron star.”  Here’s the link: http://starcraftscience.com/2010/09/13/what-is-a-supernova/

Plus – Yay!  Another reader review!  Woohoo!

“Hi Jennifer. I left a review on good reads.

I hope you don’t mind. First let me comment. In my mind, what you did was very
brave and shows a good deal of character. I don’t have a substance addiction,
besides chocolate, but I have many close friends who struggle with alcohol
addiction. One of the things I note is that some of them dream big dreams, but
they give up on them. That’s why- especially reading your story- I’m so
impressed that you stayed with your goal, and followed through. I also see that
as a good sign. In a sense, recovery and living life requires that same kind of
determination.

Comment 2: Reading your story is very much like reading
your diary. It contains so many personal details. That takes courage. As a
reader, I found it impossible not to be drawn into your story. In other words,
it would now be impossible not to care how you are doing, or to root for you.

That may create an awkward dynamic for you, because I know you from the
book, but to you I must seem a prying stranger??? You spoke about boundaries and
the need for that in life. I do understand that and want to respect that
entirely. So feel free to tell me where I as a reader end, and your private
space begins – if you know what I’m saying.

Lastly- I’m not judgmental by nature. I’ve heard similar stories, and worse. Maybe my first question is,
how hard is it to deal with readers who feel connected to you after reading your book, and who want to know how you are in this continuing journey? Does it feel
intrusive, awkward?”

N.

 

My reply: Thank you N! – I really appreciate it.

I think one reason that many people – addicts and non – give up on their dreams is because they can only see the end result. They forget – or for whatever reason – aren’t aware that a process is involved. One thing I think I can speak for all addicts on is that we’re more impatient than the non addict. Our filters work differently.

I can see why you’d feel like you were reading my diary. That’s how what it felt like I was writing through much of my story. I left some things out for numerous reasons, but I chose to add a couple parts
that were real hard to have to relive. So – in a way, now that my story is out there I feel it’s not such a heavy weight to carry around.

I don’t see you or any reader with questions as a prying stranger. Anybody can ask me anything they want. Maybe I’ll answer and maybe I won’t. I encourage curiosity.

I’m sure it may seem weird that I’d share so much of myself in a book and then possibly not answer someone’s question, but it’s important to remember I wrote each word and left other’s out for a reason – hence boundaries. Believe it or not I’m a pretty private person. A little goofy too.

“Maybe my first question is, how hard is it to deal with readers who feel connected to you after reading your book, and who want to know how you are in this continuing journey? Does it feel intrusive, awkward?”

It doesn’t feel intrusive because I’m very giving until I decide I’ve given enough and then I might say something like – “I heard you – the answer is No. Ask me something else.” I’m very comfortable
being direct.

Several of my readers have wondered about a sequel. I’ll probably start working on it in during the summer of 2013. That’s when my youngest graduates HS and I return to Seattle.

Best,
Jennifer

 

Leave a Reply

