Hm. I Think I Like It.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hm. I Think I Like It.

  1. Charles Boyer

    Sadly, that’s Ares I and it will never be built and flown. It was part of the Constellation Program, which was slated to replace the retiring Space Shuttle program, which President Obama officially cancelled a couple of years ago. The part you see atop it is the Altair lunar lander, also a cancelled program. That was due to massive cost overruns and delay after delay. A test version, Ares I-X, did fly on October 29, 2009. It will almost certainly be the first and the last of this kind of rocket. If you have not see photos of it, go here, and look for the one in flight where the rocket is piercing through the sound barrier. You will love the shot.

    http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2009/10/launch_of_the_ares_ix.html

    In its place, we can hope that SpaceX will continue to have success. They are located at Cape Canaveral, which is adjacent to the Kennedy Space Center in my home town of Cocoa Beach. See: http://www.spacex.com/falcon1.php

    By all means, if you can possibly do it, you should come here for the last Shuttle launch in July. Not to be pessimistic, but it may be the last time you will get to witness astronauts departing for orbit or beyond from American soil in our lifetimes.

    • Neftwink

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment and add all the info and links! Much appreciated! :) I didn’t know the last Shuttle launch is in July and if I can get down there to watch it – I will.
      Best.

Leave a Reply

